Candace Armstrong President, Greg Hall Secretary, Jim Schoen President Elect, Kirby Drey Treasurer

The Kentland Rotary Club held its annual meeting at Hazelden Country Club on Monday December 10.  Club members and guests gathered to elect 2013-2014 officers, present recognition and hear from Dan Ryan, District 6540 Rotary Foundation Board Chair.  President Kirby Drey opened the meeting and Roberta Dewing offered the invocation.  Introduction of members and guests followed.  The group enjoyed a delicious meal and celebrated the season with songs led by Jay Brinkman.  Kirby announced that the Rotary will be distributing $1000.00 worth of food vouchers for needy families in the southern Newton county area.  These vouchers can be redeemed at Murphy's Food King on Saturday December 22.  Kentland Rotary members will be sacking groceries and collecting cash donations for the Kentland Food Pantry that day. The following officers were elected for terms beginning July 1 of 2013:  President Candace Armstrong, President Elect Jim Schoen, Secretary Greg Hall, and Kirby Drey Treasurer. 

 Dan Ryan presented remarks on the progress of Rotary's Polio Eradication Program.  The worldwide polio program originated in 1979 with the end of new cases in the United States. At that time there about 500,000 cases worldwide. Thanks to over 1 billion dollars raised by Rotary clubs worldwide and an incentive grant of 355 million from Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation the number of cases reported in 2012 is down to 213!  Rotary members travel worldwide on their own funds to help vaccinate.  

 Mr. Ryan recognized the Kentland Rotary Club for its support of the Rotary Foundation.  Kentland had the highest per member giving in District 6540 in 2009-2010 and 2011-2012.  

 Roberta Dewing was recognized as a Paul Harris Plus 2 donor.

 John Frischie

Kentland Rotary Club